My Top 5 Tips for Healthy Holidays

Hi everyone! Today I’m sharing my tips for a healthy holiday season. I know a lot of people gain weight this time of year, and it is possible to have fun, enjoy the holidays, and to stay committed to your goals. Today I’m sharing my tips that worked for me last holiday season and what I’m doing this year to stay on track!

  1. Portion Control: The biggest secret of mine is portion control during the holidays. I am a girl who can’t say no to good cheesecake, I love apple and pumpkin pies, so I’ll indulge in what I really love, and just have a few bites. So I’m having one slice of pumpkin pie and savoring it. I also know that if I take a bite of something and its not worth it (i.e. not loving it), don’t continue eating it. It’s not going to turn out to be something I want, so why keep eating it? I’m going to share my healthy alternative to apple pie in a blog post tomorrow, so stay tuned!!
  2. Schedule Your Workouts: schedule your workouts like you would doctor’s appointments, getting coffee with friends, or anything! You won’t regret it, I promise! So this time of year is crazy, it’s no secret. My best tips are to schedule your workouts a half hour-an hour earlier in the morning, meaning get up that much earlier, get it done, and be on your way! I know when I come home from work and it’s dark that I don’t want to workout. When I wake up early, workout, and get it done, I feel amazing for the rest of the day, and my skin is glowing 😉 I also sign up for classes, because sometimes if you’re paying for a class, you’ll remember/make the effort to go. Make it a time to hang out with friends! Everyone will be getting fit, and having fun. You can even walk to coffee, or a bite to eat afterwards. On Thanksgiving morning, sign your family up for a Turkey Trot! It’s a lot of fun, and you all get a little extra sweat on before the big feast.
  3. Quickies: When it’s busy, the best workouts you can do are HIIT (Highly Intense Interval Training) and combo workouts. HIIT helps your body burn calories HOURS after you’re finished, and combo workouts combine cardio and strength training to make the MOST out of your time. I am also the girl who will do a booty circuit, push ups, or an ab circuit during commercial breaks. Be on the lookout for a commercial break/holiday travel workout coming SOON!!
  4. Step it Up! What I mean by that is, if you can walk somewhere, park your car further away (who wants to deal with crazy holiday parking anyway?), or take the stairs instead of the escalator, do it! You may not be “working out” per se, but you’re moving your body, and that movement requires energy, which comes in the form of your body burning calories.
  5. Healthy Alternatives Who doesn’t love a good holiday get together? Bring a healthy option for everyone, or if you’re hosting, mix in a few healthier options such as veggies with hummus, nuts, fruit slices, healthier peppermint bark (my favorite), with old favorites. Love wine? Me too! I tend to make white wine spritzers (half wine, half seltzer water) to cut down on calories, and to keep me hydrated during the festivities 🙂

There you have it! What are some of your tips? What kinds of workouts do you want to see?? Let me know in the comments below!!

Your trainer, Sarah ❤

Photo Credit: tumblr.com

Leave a comment